Friday, August 28, 2020

Maryland Student Researchers - BSOS Fall 2020 Opportunities

Below we've highlighted all research opportunities listed by BSOS faculty for Fall 2020. 

Ratner, Nan

Hearing and Speech Sciences

nratner@umd.edu

Natural language analysis

De Los Reyes, Andres

Psychology

adlr@umd.edu

Comprehensive Assessment and Intervention Program

Murrell, Peter

Economics

murrell@econ.umd.edu

Generating and Analyzing Data, on history, culture, and law

Kruglanski, Arie

Psychology

kruglanski@gmail.com

Goal Systems and Motivation

Shackman, Alex

Department of Psychology; Maryland Neuro

shackman@umd.edu

CLOSED UNTIL FALL 2020: The Brain and Emotion: Neuroimaging

Kruglanski, Arie

Psychology

kruglanski@gmail.com

What motivates human behavior?

Faroqi Shah, Yasmeen

Hearing and Speech Sciences

yfshah@umd.edu

Language and Cognition in Aging, and Brain Damage (aphasia), and Bilingualism

Westhelle, Felipe; Braun, Joseph

GVPT

fwesthel@umd.edu

The Politics of Psychology and Climate Change: An experiment testing the effect of environmental perception on human psychology

Ratner, Nan

Hearing and Speech Sciences

nratner@umd.edu

The development of language fluency

Cabrera, Natasha

HDQM

ncabrera@umd.edu

Family Involvement Laboratory - BabyBooks2 project

Whitehead, Tony

Anthropology

tonywhitehead1122@gmail.com

Coding, Reading, and Writing Culture

Harley, Sharon

African American Studies

sharley@umd.edu

Race and Gender Politics in Black Music: From Nina Simone to James Brown

Dunbar, Angel

African American Studies

asdunbar@umd.edu

The African American Child and Family Emotions Project

Sahajpal, Ritvik

Department of Geographical Sciences

ritvik@umd.edu

Machine learning based global crop yield and condition forecasting

Pavao-Zuckerman

Anthropology

bpavao@umd.edu

Bowie Ancestors Project

Fracchia, Adam; Leone, Mark

Anthropology

fracchia@umd.edu

Archaeology in the Digital Age: Preserving and Expanding the Reach of the Archaeology in Annapolis Collections

Cassidy, Jude

Psychology

mdchildfamilylab@umd.edu

Maryland Child and Family Lab (Various Projects)

O'Rourke, Polly

Applied Research Lab for Intelligence an

porourke@arlis.umd.edu

The neuroscience of second language learning

Mulak, Karen

Hearing and Speech Sciences

kmulak@umd.edu

The role of attentional skills in language development

Brown, Molly

Department of Geographical Sciences

mbrown52@umd.edu

NASA's Carbon Monitoring System (CMS) Applications and Policy Engagement project

Sebastian Galiani

Economics

sgaliani@umd.edu

Pandemic Economics

Dapuez, Andrés

Anthropology

adapuez@umd.edu

The Capital Promise. Human Capital Accumulation in an Indigenous Village of Yucatan

Navarrete, Michael

Economics

mnav@umd.edu

Expanded Unemployment Insurance Impact during the Pandemic

Harley, Sharon

African American Studies Department

sharley@umd.edu

“Black Lives Matter” as Diasporic Identity: Expressions of Race, Ethnicity, and Gender in Shared Political Spaces

Suri, Palak

Economics

palak@umd.edu

Women's police stations in India